8/31/2011 : LSA elects 2011-2012 board
Sheriffs elect 2011-2012 board at annual meeting

West Baton Rouge Parish Sheriff Mike Cazes has been elected president of the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association for the 2011-2012 term, succeeding Sheriff Jiff Hingle, according to Michael Ranatza,
Executive Director of the LSA.  Sheriff Cazes will lead the Association’s sixty-four chief law
enforcement officers and 14,000 deputies.

Sheriff Cazes’s election and installation, along with that of the Association’s Executive Board
and Committee, occurred on July 14, 2011 during the LSA’s Annual Sheriffs’ and Wardens’ Training Conference.  During the conference, the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program also recognized East Baton Rouge Parish Sheriff Sid Gautreaux and Pointe Coupee Parish Sheriff Bud Torres for their performances in the 2011 Acquisition and Renewal Campaign.  Sheriff Gautreaux holds the distinction of generating the highest parish revenue in this year’s campaign, and Sheriff Torres received the highest percentage response rate.  Attorney General Buddy Caldwell presided over the installation ceremonies along with keynote speaker, Governor Bobby Jindal.  The four day conference consisted of business meetings, legislative updates and training sessions.

Sheriff Cazes and the Association’s newly elected officers and board members will serve until
September 2012 and they include:  President, Sheriff Mike Cazes, West Baton Rouge Parish; First Vice President, Sheriff Bob Buckley, Union Parish; Second Vice President, Sheriff Tony Mancuso, Calcasieu Parish; Secretary-Treasurer, Sheriff Mike Waguespack, Assumption Parish; Sergeant-at-Arms, Sheriff Mike Stone, Lincoln Parish; 1st District, Sheriff Newell Normand, Jefferson Parish; 1st District Alternate, Sheriff Jack Strain, Jr., St. Tammany Parish; 2nd District, Sheriff Marlin Gusman, Orleans Parish; 3rd District, Sheriff Greg Champagne, St. Charles Parish; 3rd District Alternate, Sheriff Craig Webre, Lafourche Parish; 4th District, Sheriff Steve Prator, Caddo parish; 4th District Alternate, Sheriff Sam Craft, Vernon Parish; 5th District, Sheriff Mark Shumate, East Carroll Parish; 5th District Alternate, Sheriff Royce Toney, Ouachita Parish; 6th District, Sheriff Steven May, Caldwell Parish; 6th District Alternate, Sheriff Randy Maxwell, Concordia Parish; 7th District, Sheriff Daniel Edwards, Tangipahoa Parish; 7th District Alternate, Sheriff Sid Gautreaux, East Baton Rouge Parish; 8th District Sheriff Wayne Melancon, Acadia Parish; 8th District Alternate, Sheriff Mike Couvillon, Vermilion Parish; 9th District Sheriff Jeff Wiley, Ascension Parish; 9th District Alternate, Sheriff Austin Daniel, West Feliciana Parish; Ex-Officio Member, Sheriff Jiff Hingle, Plaquemines Parish.

      1175 Nicholson Drive | Baton Rouge, LA 70802 | t. 225.343.8402 | f. 225.336.0343
Home | Contact