9/30/2009 : LSA Elects 2009-2010 President and Executive Board
Natchitoches Parish Sheriff Victor  Jones has been elected president of the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association for the 2009-2010 term, succeeding Sheriff Larry Cox, according to Hal Turner, Executive Director of the LSA.  Sheriff Jones will lead the Association’s sixty-five chief law enforcement officers and 14,000 deputies.  The newly elected president’s tenure took effect on September 1, 2009.

Sheriff Jones’s election and installation, along with that of the Association’s Executive Board and Committee, occurred in August during the LSA’s Annual Sheriffs’ and Wardens’ Training Conference.  Attorney General Buddy Caldwell presided over the installation ceremonies along with keynote speaker, Luke Letlow, Special Assistant to Governor Bobby Jindal on Intergovernmental Affairs.  The four day conference consisted  of business meetings, legislative updates and training sessions.

Sheriff Jones and the Association’s newly elected officers and board members will serve until September 2010.

President: Sheriff Victor Jones. Natchitoches Parish
First Vice President: Sheriff “Jiff” Hingle, Plaquemines Parish
Second Vice President: Sheriff Mike Cazes, West Baton Rouge Parish
Secretary-Treasurer: Sheriff Bob Buckley, Union Parish
Sergeant at Arms: Sheriff Tony Mancuso, Calcasieu Parish
1st District: Sheriff Jack Strain, St. Tammany Parish
Alternate: Sheriff Newell Normand, Jefferson Parish
2nd District: Sheriff Marlin Gusman, Orleans (Criminal) Parish
Alternate: Sheriff Paul Valteau, Orleans (Civil) Parish
3rd District: Sheriff Vernon Bourgeois, Terrebonne Parish
Alternate: Sheriff  David Naquin, St. Mary Parish
4th District: Sheriff Steve Prator, Caddo Parish
Alternate: Sheriff Sam Craft, Vernon Parish
5th District: Sheriff Mark Shumate, East Carroll Parish
Alternate: Sheriff Royce Toney, Ouachita Parish
6th District: Sheriff Scott Franklin, LaSalle Parish
Alternate: Sheriff Chuck Wagner, Rapides Parish
7th District: Sheriff Daniel Edwards, Tangipahoa Parish
Alternate: Sheriff Sid Gautreaux, East Baton Rouge Parish

      1175 Nicholson Drive | Baton Rouge, LA 70802 | t. 225.343.8402 | f. 225.336.0343
Home | Contact