9/6/2012 : Sheriffs elect 2012-2013 board at annual meeting

Union Parish Sheriff Bob Buckley has been elected president of the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association for the 2012-2013 term, succeeding Sheriff Mike Cazes, according to Michael Ranatza,

Executive Director of the LSA.  Sheriff Buckley will lead the Association’s sixty-four chief law

enforcement officers and 14,000 deputies.


Sheriff Buckley’s election and installation, along with that of the Association’s Executive Board
and Committee, occurred on August 22, 2012 during the LSA’s Annual Sheriffs’ and Wardens’ Training Conference.  During the conference, the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program also recognized East Baton Rouge Parish Sheriff Sid Gautreaux and Tensas Parish Sheriff Rickey A. Jones for their performances in the 2012 Acquisition and Renewal Campaign.  Sheriff Gautreaux holds the distinction of generating the highest parish revenue in this year’s campaign, and Sheriff Jones received the highest percentage response rate.  Attorney General Buddy Caldwell presided over the installation ceremonies along with keynote speaker, Concordia Parish Clerk of Court, Clyde R. Webber Jr.  The three day conference consisted of business meetings, legislative updates and training sessions.


Sheriff Buckley and the Association’s newly elected officers and board members will serve until

July 2013 and they include:

President, Sheriff Bob Buckley, Union Parish; first vice-president, Sheriff Tony Mancuso, Calcasieu Parish; second vice-president, Sheriff Mike Waguespack, Assumption Parish; secretary-treasurer, Sheriff Mike Stone, Lincoln Parish; sergeant-at-arms, Sheriff Sid Gautreaux, East Baton Rouge Parish; 1stDistrict, Sheriff Newell Normand, Jefferson Parish; 1st District Alternate, Sheriff Jack Strain, Jr., St. Tammany Parish; 2ndDistrict, Sheriff Marlin Gusman, Orleans Parish; 3rd District Sheriff Louis Ackal, Iberia Parish; 3rd District Alternate, Sheriff Lonnie Greco, Plaquemines Parish; 4th District, Sheriff Steve Prator, Caddo Parish; 4th District Alternate, Sheriff Sam Craft, Vernon Parish; 5th District, Sheriff Jay Russell, Ouachita Parish; 5thDistrict Alternate, Sheriff Wydette Williams, East Carroll Parish; 6thDistrict, Sheriff Cranford Jordan, Winn Parish; 6th District Alternate, Sheriff Steven McCain, Grant Parish; 7th District, Sheriff Randy Seal, Washington Parish, 7th District Alternate, Sheriff Jason Ard, Livingston Parish; 8th District Sheriff Mike Couvillon, Vermilion Parish; 8th District Alternate, Sheriff Doug Hebert Allen Parish; 9th District, Sheriff Doug Anderson, Avoyelles Parish; 9th District Alternate, Sheriff Nathaniel Williams, St. Helena Parish; Ex-Officio Member, Sheriff Mike Cazes, West Baton Rouge Parish.